Our governors come from across the community, representing a range of skills and expertise. There are several categories of governor, appointed by different groups; these are Community governors, the Local Authority, Parents and Staff. All governors have equal status, no matter how they are appointed.

We, as governors, have great pride in our school and all that it has achieved. We are responsible for the strategic direction of the school, monitoring standards and policies and ensuring value for money.

We meet regularly, both at full governing body meetings and at committee level. If you would like to find out more, please contact the school office by E-mail or by telephone on 01293 527473.

Mission Statement

Roots to grow, Wings to Fly, Success and Confidence for all!


Chair of Governors: James Sharpe, an appointed governor
Vice-Chair of Governors: Dawn Rhodes, a parent governor.

We currently have 9 governors:

  • 1 Headteacher
  • 2 staff governors
  • 3 parent governors
  • 3 appointed governors


There are six meetings of the full Local Governing Body each academic year. In addition to this, there are two committees who have delegated responsibility laid out in their terms of reference.

Staffing and Pay Committee

The Staffing and Pay Committee meet at least annually to review the whole school pay policy, review all staff members pay and agree matters relating to staffing.

Standards Committee

The Standards Committee meet at least annually to review the previous year’s data including attainment, using the Governments ASP data analysis.. The school reports to the LGB throughout the year at half termly meetings.


The Oaks Local Governing Body (LGB)

Appointed governor - James Sharpe - Chair of governors contact

Appointed governor - Dawn Rhodes - Vice-chair of governors

Appointed governor - Samantha Andrews-Fisher

Parent governor - Ryan Sallows

Parent governor - Natasha Jones

Parent governor - Sharon Johnston

Staff governor - Tracey Davis

Staff governor - Monty Parrott

Headteacher -  Alan Gunn

Downloads Date  
LGB leavers 02nd Oct 2019 Download
Scheme of Delegation 05th Jul 2019 Download
Governor Impact Statement 20th Nov 2019 Download
Governance 2019 - 2020 09th Mar 2020 Download
Constitution of LGB The Oaks Primary Sch... 20th Oct 2020 Download